fbpx

Reply: Passed my PMP exam on 1st attempt

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed my PMP exam on 1st attempt

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
6 years 1 month ago #13098

Mark Lacattiva

Nice work Sowjanya!
6 years 1 month ago #13097

Ty Weston, PMP

Excellent write up, thanks for sharing!
6 years 1 month ago #13095

Sowjanya Dasika

I passed my PMP exam on Jan 26th, on my first attempt.
Above Target Overall.

First of all, I would like to say that I wanted to write PMP, not only to obtain the certification to add it to my resume, but also, out of interest to understand the concepts of project management. Memorization is not my thing, I have to understand the concepts to answer any questions.

Preparation time:
I started preparing for the exam since mid-September, so I prepared for about 4 and a half months.
I studied for about 3 to 4 hours a day, and 4-5 days a week. I was working full time and juggling between work, family and preparation for the exam.

The materials I used for the exam:
1) PM Prepcast
2) PMBOK guide
3) PMP Exam Prep by Rita Mulcahy

The best things I did, that worked well for me were:
1) I started out with Rita’s book, and the 1st 2 chapters were fine, but once I came to the knowledge areas, I got confused. I felt like it was not structured properly. The concepts and tools and techniques were explained clearly, and elaborated well, but there was no structure, as the tools and techniques were not categorized well. So I started listening to PM Prepcast, reading PMBOK guide and Rita’s book simultaneously. It took at least 3 and a half months to complete the 1st reading, as I was doing all 3 at the same time, but it was worth it.
2) I highlighted important points in Rita’s book, which made revision really easy.