fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP thanks to Prepcast

Passed PMP thanks to Prepcast 6 years 3 months ago #12816

• Ty Weston, PMP
  • Ty Weston, PMP's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 37
I have passed my PMP exam on 6 Jan 2018, after five months of study, with a 5 above target. Here is a description of the plan I used.
First, I discovered what type of learner I was, which is almost exclusively a visual/reader. I knew I had to augment audio lessons with reading.
Second, I learned my personality type, which is INTJ. This was very enlightening for me and helped shape how I would approach learning.
I had five months to study, which I studied every morning at 5AM for about an hour or so, every lunch break, and after work. My study time initially was very heavy.
The resources I used were the Prepcast, PMBOK, Rita's, Head First, Shiv's Notes, Prepcast simulator, Prepcast Coach, Prepcast Formulas, and various on-line resources and my computer flash card program called Anki. I also set up a Gantt chart to map my time and set time limits for every section.
My strategy would be to learn this iteratively, memorise the 47 processes and the formulas outlined by Pepcast.
Heres the process.
I started by watching the Prepcast videos and following along with Rita's book. I initially followed that with reading Head First too, but stopped that. I immediately started learning the 47 processes and formulas, by creating my brain dump. I found patterns in the formulas and used memory techniques to memorise the 47 processes. This was done at least five days a week from start to finish, whether I really understood or not.