fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed the exam with 4P and 1MP - an hour ago :)

Passed the exam with 4P and 1MP - an hour ago :) 6 years 9 months ago #11045

• Jeffrey Ho
  • Jeffrey Ho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hello everyone,

I wanted to thank you guys for being so supportive on this forum, and I hope to help everyone succeed by sharing how I studied.

How I prepared for the PMP exam:

- Took a PMP crash course to understand the requirements of the exam and to kick-start my study efforts ( I knew nothing about the exam going into the course).
- Bought Rita's book and read it twice, and my course materials from the crash course.
- Bought the PMBOK (for reference only)
- Bought PM prepcast exams
- Bought PMstudy exams
- Contrary to everyone else, I did NOT do the oliver lehmann exams

Keys which I think are crucial to acing the exam:
1) TAKE NOTES as you read your study materials
2) Main takeway: PMBOK is horrible in explanation, so you need to make sure you DO LOTS OF PRACTICE QUESTIONS FROM LEGITIMATE SOURCES, and type a KEY lessons learned from the question you weren't sure about or what you got wrong - This is crucial because it helps you remember the "practical" application of the knowledge (i.e. what PMBOK doesn't teach you. BIG NOTE: Be careful of over generalization, certain answers are only correct under specific conditions, you need to learn those conditions)
3) Recognize that you are not going to ace every question and move on if you are behind time, I was about 10 questions behind my targeted timing while doing the exam (and I had to use the bathroom), but I pushed through (even though I guessed the last question, and even didn't press "submit", it submitted automatically).