fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Pass Exam First Attempt, Lessons Learned, 2 P's & 3 MP's

Pass Exam First Attempt, Lessons Learned, 2 P's & 3 MP's 6 years 10 months ago #11042

• Jill Haycock
  • Jill Haycock's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I decided to get my PMP certification at the beginning of this year. I have been a Project Manager for over 10 years (specifically interactive/web projects). Once I reviewed the application process, I started looking for options on how to get the 35 hours needed and found the prepcast to be recommended by lots of sites/people and decided that was the right approach for me since I needed to by able to learn on my own time and online. The application process was intense and I did write everything out in a google doc before I entered in the information into the online application form. It took me 3 weeks to get the application done.

I watched the podcasts as outlined by Cornelius and followed his recommendation on order and sat at my computer and took notes on every episode. It took me 3 months to get through it all, at the same time I was reading over the PMBOK guide, which I probably skimmed through twice. I also took the practice test at the end of each chapter.