fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passing the PMP exam on the 1st attempt and lessons learned

Passing the PMP exam on the 1st attempt and lessons learned 6 years 10 months ago #10969

• Emre Tuzun
  • Emre Tuzun's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone,
I cleared off my PMP exam on the 1st try on 15 June.
I wanted to convey my experiences and lessons learned so that everybody can benefit, just like I did while preparing.
First of all, I have to inform you that it took me 2 years to start studying and get certified!!
The sole reason for this was that, I am an active officer in the Turkish Army and due to multiple deployments I could never schedule my exam, let alone submitting my application!!
So my recommendation; try to submit your documents and book your exam whenever you make up your mind about certification. I did not say "whenever you are ready", because you will never be ready to take the exam literally;)
So, my journey started with reading the PMBOK and it made no sense to a person like me with no vast project management experience.
Then I purchased Rita's book in order to UNDERSTAND the PMI mentality which was the right decision. Rita's book really makes you realize and understand the concepts.
In order to fulfill the eligibility requirements for the application, I purchased Cornelius's Prepcast with the Simulator version. Prepcast makes a difference while visualizing the concepts via presentations and podcasts.
As a supplementary reference, I purchased Andy Crowe's PMP Exam book. It was nice to have but was not a must have reference once obtained Rita's.
Once the PMI flow started to make sense, I started taking almost daily 25-50 question quizzes online on the www.examcentral.net .