fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed on first try - lessons learned and methodology

Passed on first try - lessons learned and methodology 6 years 11 months ago #10399

• Stephanie Tremblay
  • Stephanie Tremblay's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I passed my PMP exam on the first try this week (mid April). I started studying using the PM PrepCast in December. My study schedule was rather erratic, but I listened to/watched almost every PrepCast lesson (I didn't finish the 80s and 50s series). About 2-3 weeks before the exam I also bought and carefully read the Andy Crowe book (it proved to be a simplified and rapid way of reviewing the subject matter, but was not very thorough (and the formatting of the book could use work)). I did not read the PMBok, mainly because there was no time left, and I did not want to reschedule my exam. I did the practice exam in the Andy Crowe book and one online practice exam the night before my exam (from Velociteach - given that I would only have time for one single online exam!)

I ended up studying less and reviewing less than I would ideally have liked to. I was therefore not very confident going into the exam. What helped a lot was that I was as attentive as possible while studying, therefore not having time to review did not have very negative consequences.