fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed Firt Attempt PMP 3Ps and 2 MPs

Passed Firt Attempt PMP 3Ps and 2 MPs 7 years 4 weeks ago #10320

• Dustin Hughes
  • Dustin Hughes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
This past weekend 4/8/2016, I passed the PMP on the first Attempt. I made Proficient on (Planning, Executing and Monitoring and Controlling) and Moderately Proficient on (Initiating and Closing).

I took a little over 4 months to study and basically followed the Plan of the PM Prepcast. I studied 1-2 hours a night, we get the kids down by 8pm and I studied between then and bedtime. I took the weekends off at first, but by the end I was putting in a good effort on Saturday as well. I left Chapter 4 integration for last as the prepcast suggested, looking back I think that was the correct way to do it. I gave myself enough time to watch all the Prepcasts and read Rita's book leaving a week and a half to focus on my weak areas before my test date.

In the last few days I went back and made sure I had the Process Chart down cold and basically memorized who was credited with what theory and when they should be applied. Since you can no longer do a brain dump during the tutorial I only wrote down a few formulas (Yeah that is new as of a couple months). I did not bother trying to memorize the process chart until I was almost done with studying, at this point it made more sense and seemed less like pure memorization.