fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Student Profile: I passed the PMP 1/30/17!

Student Profile: I passed the PMP 1/30/17! 7 years 1 month ago #9834

• Gail Freedman
  • Gail Freedman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
I am a Project Manager with 20 years of experience in project work in health insurance. I failed the first time I took the exam. With demanding work projects, a family, and a torn right shoulder that could not have surgery, studying was challenging and painful. The bulk of my study time with questions and exams was on weekends, in between parenting, and reading or review was at night in between physical therapy appointments and work. It took approximately 6 months to prepare.

Biggest challenges:

The most difficult part of preparing for me was comprehending all the different tools identified by PMI that I had never seen or used in practice. I used google a lot to see examples of these tools used in practice. Once I understood these better, I could see how having these tools would have helped past projects tremendously! The reading alone was not enough. Having someone to teach me how to think of the material differently was key. Dan Ryan was a huge help!

Tools
• PMBOK, 5th edition
• Andy Crowe, PMP – The PMP Exam: How To Pass On Your First Try. 5th edition
• Podcasts: The PM-Study Coach with Cornelius Fichtner, PMP
• PMP® Exam Coaching with Dan Ryan, PMP
• PM Exam Simulator
• Blog: Shiv from PMESN blog

What helped?
• Table 3-1: Project Management Process Group and Knowledge Area Mapping, p. 61 of the PMBOK. Try your best to write this out by memory. Practice daily.
• ITTOs & Formulas: Try your best to memorize