fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed in the first attempt, non native English, Japanese speaker

Passed in the first attempt, non native English, Japanese speaker 7 years 2 months ago #9416

• SHINGO YANO
  • SHINGO YANO's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I worked as a project manager in Japan for more than 20 years, in diverse field, but did not have PMP certificate.
( www.linkedin.com/in/shingo-yano-stark )
Even without a PMP certificate, I could have worked and be hired as a project manager.
I think in Japan, there are still lack of professionals and recognition of this certificate.
I decided to take a PMP when I engaged with Sydney girl and needed to move into Sydney. It was almost a year ago.

Here, for the Non-native English speaker, especially Japanese, my learned lessons:
1. Even if you are not good English speaker, I suggest to study everything in English
- Textbook, Webinar, e-learning and even dictionary (better not to translate and understand in your own language)
- There are language support on PMP test, but translation is not perfect, just expect them as a support
- Compare to Japanese, English is more logical language (this information is for only Japanese speaker)

2. PMBOK, PMPrepCast and one set of ExamSimulator is enough
- I actually bought few text book, but above 3 learning materials were enough I think
- PMPrepCast, the material that you can learn through Podcast, was wonderful tool for busy person, utilising your commuting rush hour
- PrepExamSimulator has enough questions to cover all of your weaknesses, by the time you finish all, you will be confident

3. Don't take too much time on studying, spend more time on Exam Simulator