fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP Exam -Preparation Steps

Passed PMP Exam -Preparation Steps 7 years 5 months ago #8738

• Doug Lane
  • Doug Lane's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
PMP Exam Lessons Learned

Background

My background is Information Technology in which I’ve been employed for 35 years in positions ranging from Programmer to Systems Analyst to IT Manager positions. I have taken other project management, ITIL and Six Sigma courses and I have used project management best practices, tools and techniques in my positions.
In July, I found myself in between jobs so I dedicated my summer to getting my PMP certification. Because I was able to dedicate several hours each day I set an aggressive target to get my PMP certification by September.

Study and Preparation

I first read the PMBOK guide to ensure I was fairly familiar with the process groups and 47 project management processes. I spent two to three hours a day reading the book for about one month.
I then used the PM PrepCast to study each of the processes further. I spent about 90 hours over the next two and half weeks going through the lessons, highlighting material in the PMBOK guide and writing my own notes. I found the PM PrepCast a very useful study tool to learn and study by. I memorized Table 3-1 Project Management Process Groups and Knowledge Areas and the formulas in Table 7-1 Earned Value Calculations. This was good advice given by Cornelius and other PMP exam takers. I scored 79% on average on the self-assessments for each module.

Crunch Time