fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: I passed the PMP exam on my first attempt!!

I passed the PMP exam on my first attempt!! 7 years 11 months ago #7383

• Mike Messenger
  • Mike Messenger's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
This is how I studied.
1. I took an 2 Project management courses a few years ago and one was an exam preparation course.
2. I attempted to read the PMBOK and text book from Kim Heldman for over a year. I just couldn't seem to stay focused and I didn't really know how much of the books I needed to retain.
3. I needed a solid plan that was current and I didn't have time to sort through everything that was available on-line. That is so time consuming so I bought the PrepCast and the formulae guide and exam simulator.
4. I started a regular study routine the 2nd week of Jan 2016 and successfully passed the exam on April 28, 2016. Just 15 days before my year of eligibility would expire.
5. I studied about 10 hours per week in the evenings until the last 2 weeks. Then I studied about 20hrs per week.
6. I listened to lectures and memorized table 3.1 (Process Group/Knowledge area table) in the PMBOK guide 5.
7. I then started the exam simulator questions. First I tried small quizzes where I would flip through my text books and formulas and try to find the answers.
8. I then studied the formula guide along with lots of example questions.
9. Over the course of the last 3 weeks I developed my own cheat sheet which started out as multiple pages. In the end I only had 2 pages.
10. I did 2.5 full exams just using my cheat sheet and did fairly well. I reviewed all my mistakes to ensure I understood and made notes as needed to my cheat sheets.
11. In total I did over 900 questions. I just simply ran out of time. I wish I could have done more.