fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Pass PMP exam February 2016

Pass PMP exam February 2016 8 years 3 weeks ago #7072

• Norma Derqui Lopez
  • Norma Derqui Lopez's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I passed my PMP on the first attempt. I studied a lot and I felt I was well prepared so I went to the exam confident of my knowledge but still once there I was extremely nervous.

I had been reading about the PMP for a while. Since I was not happy at my current job, once I decided to do it, I left to be able to study full time.

I register for the PMP PrepCast and all other related materials at the beginning of September 2015 and passed the exam on February 2015. Kids, family and the holidays kept me from studying the last 2 weeks in November and all of December, but the rest of the time I dedicated at least 5 hours each day from Monday to Friday. So about 4.5 months.

I completed the Prep cast, did the application which took about a week, then I started to go over the PMBOK Guide and Rita’s book, (an old edition a friend gave me), I would go over a knowledge area on both books and back to the PrepCast for clarification as needed and then do practice test on that knowledge area. The last month or so I only did long quizzes on the simulator and two practice exams a week.

I did the exam in Raleigh NC and felt the place was nice and the people were very sweet. Checking that the address was correct was enough for me, but I did get there about 30 minutes early. The chairs were comfortable, the screens big, they had ear muffs, the spaces were separated with tall partitions, it was fine. You could hear other people typing a lot but it did not bother me, once in a while the AC would go on, it got a bit loud and cold but not a big deal.