fbpx

Reply: Lessons Learned - Passed PMP Jan 11

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Lessons Learned - Passed PMP Jan 11

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
8 years 2 months ago #6917

Cecil D'Souza

The understanding is that the calculation questions are not that difficult if the formula is known and rightly applied. I agree that encountering one in the midst of a stressful sequence of reading situations questions, suddenly having to switch to solve a problem may not be the best solution. But how do you get to these questions specifically if you have more than just those marked for later?. After all, doing these correctly is guaranteed a point because there is only one answer. Where as coming back later is risky if somewhere down the line, one is left with no much time at the end.
8 years 2 months ago #6913

Brad King

Some notes on the PMP process:
I started studying on November 7, 2015 and continued to study right up until the course before. I started by reading the Rita Mculhay PMP prep book which laid the foundations for all the ideas. Then I watched the PM Prepcast which solidified the conceptual content and filled in some of the details -such as examples of OPAs and EEV outputs for each of the processes -which really helped.

I started in the simulator fairly quickly, first by doing some learning quizzes and then doing a practice exam each week. Practice exams are gruelling but they are useful in preparing for the full 4 hours for the PMP.

A big lesson learned was to get into the simulator as quickly as possible. For example, after studying a process area, quiz on the area as quickly as possible. Of course, you’ll only be able to complete a full exam once you’ve reviewed all the content, but it’s imperative to get feedback on how you’re doing in the process groups and knowledge areas as quickly as possible.