fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP, first try, 3P/2MP in Florida

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP, first try, 3P/2MP in Florida

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
8 years 2 months ago #6896

Nora Swanson

My study materials:
1. PMBOK
2. PM PrepCast videos
3. PM-Exam-Simulator
4. PMP Formula Study Guide
5. Made my own flashcards (about 200) on 4x6 index cards
6. Made my own reference spreadsheet of all 47 Processes and their ITTOs

Lessons learned:
1. I had established an aggressive study schedule/timeline that wasn't realistic for a working mom (60+ hours/week) with two kids (ages 7 and 1). I am very lucky to have an understanding husband who made sure they were fed, bathed and got their homework done while I studied. If you have a family, make sure to set expectations about how the PMP exam will affect them too.
2. I ran out of time and was only able to take three of the PM-Exam-Simulator tests. I wish I had started using the Exam Simulator at least two or three weeks prior to the exam (and not four days).
3. When I first heard this suggested I thought it was silly, but I TOTALLY recommend doing a practice-run of getting to the exam site in conditions similar to what you'll be doing. Although I was familiar with the location, I had never driven there from my house during rush hour traffic. To make matters worse, it was pouring rain that morning which caused a few accidents and even more traffic delays. I got there with 30 seconds to spare.
4. I loved the PM-Exam-Simulator, but hadn't accounted for how much time it would take. I spent about 7 hours every time I took a full exam because after I answered the questions, I went through all 200 again (even the ones I got right) to review my answers and look them up in the book.