fbpx

Reply: Passed Exam in New York

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed Exam in New York

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
8 years 3 months ago #6716

Tracey South

Congratulations! Thank you for providing such a thorough overview!

Tracey
8 years 3 months ago #6688

James Collins

I passed the PMP exam on December 15, 2015. This was a dream come true and I am happy to be part of the PMP community. I started studying in April; however, I was not consistent due to my schedule, personal and family commitments. However, with exam date changing I pushed myself to prepare. I tried to figure out the easy path to prepare; however, I began to realize that everything that I read online regarding preparation is absolutely true. We have to put the time in and study and take tons of practice exams. Below are the highlights of my preparation process and lessons learned.

I began studying about 2 hours a day, during the week and 4 hours per day on the weekend.

- I had to go to a library to study as I get very easily distracted in the home environment. When you see other people studying you get inspired.

- I tried not to read the PMBOK. However, I began to realize how important it is to read it. Therefore, I read it once and did not take notes, I
just read it and got a sense of the framework. I then read it a few more times during my study process and took notes to develop a better sense of the PMBOK purpose and structure.

- I did read and study both Andy Crowe "Pass the PMP on your first try" and Rita Mulcahy PMP Prep book. While both are decent, for me I preferred Andy Crowes . It is more direct and I personally found Rita's book was very wordy and over explained some concepts.

- I did watch Cornelius Flchtner's videos which were invaluable. I am a visual learner and his video spoke to my learning style so it was a definite asset to my learning plan.