fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP with 4 P's and 1 MP - Lessons Learned

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP with 4 P's and 1 MP - Lessons Learned

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
8 years 7 months ago #5908

Stan

's Avatar

Dear forum members,

I'm glad to share my joy with you - passed PMP at the 1st attempt with 4 P's and 1 MP.

Here is my story.
1. My overall preparation time took 3 months, while working full time job and having family with 3 kids. So I studied every day 1-2 hours, and every weekend 8 hours.
2. Took boot camp – total waste of time and money. The only added value was 35 PDU’s, which I could have got much more cheaper had I did market research properly and read this forum in advance :)
3. Read book by Joseph Phillips which I got on the camp – very disappointing. Seems like just user friendly interpretation of the PMBOK without too much added value. But being a diligent student, I’ve read it from the first to the last page, answered all questions in the end of each chapter, and practiced both full mock exams coming in the CD with the book. I don’t even remember how much I scored back then.
4. Read PMBOK once (while taking the boot camp) and then used it as a reference during the rest of the preparation time.
5. Thanks to some review I saw online I purchased Rita’s book which was the wisest decision in my preparation to the exam. Could you believe I didn’t know about this book when I just started to study? Read the book twice, made all exercises in each chapter, all questions in the end of each chapter
6. Purchased Rita’s PM FASTRack software and as mentioned above – took 3 standard PMP mock simulations and one SuperPMP. As mentioned above – scored 80+ on the standard and 65 on the SuperPMP. This was another wise decision, even though this software is so expensive! Absolutely overpriced. But, eventually, it’s paid off.