fbpx

Reply: I got my life back Mar 19 !!!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : I got my life back Mar 19 !!!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 3 weeks ago #5314

Robert Treacy

Hi,

I passed on the first try with four Ps and one Mp in Initiating!! This is significant for me for a couple of reasons. I had to first ask: I am an engineer, why would I do this? I have been at the same R&D lab for 26 years, still have no guarantee of retention, but won't likely go looking at 60 years of age. We continually do exciting projects, but only in the last 2~3 years our new director has formed a PMO that is changing the culture to apply a PMBOK and INCOSE System Engineering framework to develop processes. Prior to the new director, I looked at a obtaining a quality certification. At that time however, our organization placed no value in this, or any other certifications. Now, the PMO requires PMP and ASEP certifications for all PMs. Our PMO has 4 certified (now 5!) with an employee base of ~250. A coworker in the PMO at another site has 30 years PM experience, mostly consulting. He is a very bright guy with a masters degree (perhaps even in PM) but was not certified. He failed the exam a week before I took mine, apparently due to overconfidence. I was assured by the others that I would be OK since they knew I was faithfully drilling on the PMBOK and sample exams. Nevertheless, this got my attention.