fbpx

Reply: Defining you own strategy

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Defining you own strategy

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 2 months ago #5103

Norbert Paul

Hello Cornelius, Hello Everybody,

yesterday (Jan. 23th, 2015) I passed on my first try with a reasonable outcome of 4 proficient and 1 moderate (closing). All in all not too bad, for a 1 month study tour with a deliberate decision not to take any "real 4-hours exams" during my preparation.

In the following I like to explain, how I did it and how I set up my learning strategy based on my personal goals, preferences and self-obtained constraints. From my perspective, is important to define for oneself which learning approach to go for. If you like, you can call this the "project management plan".

Preparation phase.
I am a freelance IT consultant and project manager from Germany with long time experience and project history in SAP consulting, e.g. mid-size to large implementations of ERP systems.

I was thinking how to improve project methodologies ever since and have thought about some certifications earlier on. In Germany a valid alternative to the PMI-PMP would be the IMPA/GPA (level C). Other methods like PRINCE2 are sometimes seens equivalent, although I think not so difficult to opain.
Although I have used English in many projects, I though it is a nice additional challenge to just learn "the PM language" in English. I decided not to use any translation tools, but just try to learn the vocabulary.
I checked for some PMP-Trainings and found many options starting from over 2000$ with good trainers to some 2-day boot camps for approx 600$. Just "by accident" I discovered the PrepCast, and thought, cool...this seems worth trying. As I had some good previous experience with a MOOC course, I decided I take that. This was Dec, 1st.