fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP exam on first try - Here's how

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP exam on first try - Here's how

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 2 months ago #5062

Florian

's Avatar

Hi folks,

on 12th January I passed my PMP exam on the first try. I scored proficient in all 5 domains and couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the result on the screen at the testing center. :woohoo:

Here's a short summary on how I studied for the exam.
As I wanted to be bulletproof for the exam I started quite early to sutdy in order to fully internalize the PMI methodology.

I used diverse study concepts to prepare for the exam consisting of:
- Web based trainings from ESI (Quality Management, Risk Management, Cost control and Schedulin, Project Leadership, Management and Communications)
- PMBOK Guide 5th Edition (printed and digital copy)
- Rita's PM Prep book based on PMBOK 5th edition
- Head first PMP book
- PM Exam Simulator (PM Prepcast)

Starting end of August 2014 I began reading the Head First book which gives you a comprehensive and entertaining way to understand all concepts.
Then I read the PMBOK guide once followed by Rita's prep book. In the meantime I started to look for possible test questions and ended up with the PM exam simulator which was my main source for test exams and single test questions. I really liked the intuitive application and the quality of the test questions. They really prepare you for the real exam. Until two weeks before the exam I read the PMBOK guide and Rita's book again.

2 weeks before the exam I had an extended christmas holiday which I have used to study for the exam. I studied 5-6 hours a day and completed about 2000 test questions including 7 real time exam tests. In addition I went through the PMBOK and Rita's book a third time.
This last days were quite exhausting but I focused on my goal and luckily it paid off.

B)