fbpx

Reply: Passed my PMP!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed my PMP!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 8 months ago #4561

Susan Landin

Let me start off by saying that this was not an easy milestone but one that can be achieved.

I studied for 12 weeks, 6 days a week on average of 3 hours per day. Gathering and filling out the application was a small project in itself. I was one of the lucky ones to get selected for audit. Since I already discussed my application with prior managers, submitting the documents were quite easy. I was approved in less than a week!

For my study, I used the PM PrepCast - this was so valuable because I drive 1 hour each way to work and I was able to listen. I read the pmbok once, but referred to it a few times. I also read Andy Crowe- How to pass on your first try. Easy reading.

Preparing with questions - PM Exam Simulator, I answered over 1500 questions taking 2 full exams and mostly 100 questions at a time

Exam central - 200 questions
Pm study 100 questions
Pmp for sure -100 questions
Sean Whitaker questions for pmp 400 questions

So you see, quite a lot and so important . Average score on first attempt 81, some a few points more some a few points less.
Timing was never a issue on practice exams however that was NOT the case in the real exam.

I was shocked on how long each questions was taking me! I only marked about 10 questions because my first instinct was usually correct in practice. I finished the exam with 15 minutes to spare. Reviewed about 2 questions, then said "let's just get it over with" .
I pressed the end exam and covered my eyes, peaking to see if anything came up on the screen - something did but didn't say congratulations - it asked to take a survey. I decided not to and pressed again - after what seemed like forever, the magic words did appear - I am a PMP!