fbpx

Reply: Strategy for passing PMP on first attempt

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Strategy for passing PMP on first attempt

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 9 months ago #4359

Dan King

Hello PMP aspirants,

I passed my exam on the first attempt on 6/23/14. Here is my successful strategy.

I studied for 4 months, 3-4 hours daily M-F. Then I switched to full time study the last 2 weeks before the exam. For me, I can say every bit of that was needed. The exam really tests your in depth understanding of the PMBOK framework. Very few of the questions seemed to be straight forward. Many were tricky in how they asked the question. Many required a round-about way to get the correct answer, and lots of questions on how to correctly apply the PMBOK guidelines in various scenarios.

The tools I used were:
PMBOK guide, 5th edition
PM Prepcast
PMP Exam Simulator

I watched all the videos in the Precast. I took notes while watching each video, then read the corresponding section in the PMBOK. This was a nice approach to tackle the PMBOK guide, versus trying to read all 600 pages in a few sittings.

I ended up with 175 pages of notes containing the salient points. This was much more manageable for targeted study. Two weeks before the exam, I went through all my notes again, and read the entire PMBOK guide one more time.

I took several sample tests from the PMP exam simulator. This worked great to identify areas needing focus. After each exam, I would review the incorrect items, and items I marked indicating I wasn’t comfortable with my response. After follow up study of my deficient knowledge areas, I would go back to the PMP exam simulator and take questions just on those knowledge areas. The PMP exam simulator is awesome for that. You can take an entire 200 question exam, or select items from specific knowledge areas.