fbpx

Reply: Cleared PMP on 14/4/14 in first attempt!!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Cleared PMP on 14/4/14 in first attempt!!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 11 months ago #4131

Raj Naveen

Dear all,

I have not done much forums postings, and so bear with me,if write up is not upto your expectations.

I have 4 years PM experience. Luckily for me, i happened to have PMBOK on first year, and because, i was not so busy, i read the PMBOK edition-4 once in the first year of my career. I understood nothing!!..

Later after 3 years, when i realised the importance of PMP, and i wanted to study PMBOK again(this time 5th edition!), i was lot dizy... It was at that moment, i got "Headfirst PMP for 4th edition". - One of the most awesome books... It is like PMP comics.. It broke the mental barrier i had about PMP and helped me understand important concepts. More importantly it gave me confidence, that i have learnt lot of things from my experience. Because in our company, they do a lot of things without using the terminologies used by PMBOK.

After finishing Headfirst, i gave a mock PMP, and got just 120. Back to square-1!

So after browing long hours in forums, i found a lot of books, but many prasied about Rita's book. For me, it looked like a epic novel, and i dared not to touch it... However one more poor performance in mock PMP gave me the motivation to read Rita.

I admit Rita is not quite interesting as Headfirst. But once you get a feel of Rita's book structure, you will start to enjoy it. Very important is to read the introduction, preface etc. Because, she discusses the strategy that you can take to study.

I took the below strategy:

1-read the entire book from first to last page like a novel once without answering practice questions, as casually as possible,
2-read integration management again