fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP on 2nd try, 4th Edition!!! Lesson Learn

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP on 2nd try, 4th Edition!!! Lesson Learn

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
10 years 7 months ago #3669

CHARBEL NEMNOM

Dear All,

Finally, I passed the 4th edition on July 3rd before changing it to V5.

Firstly, I would like to thank Mr. Cornelius Fichtner for his wonderful products 'The PM PrepCast, PM Exam simulator and PM Formula Study guide'.

My background is as an IT technical manager, where I've basically had the opportunity to lead and participate in many projects over the past 6 years.

The studying plan started last February based on below materials:

1. PMBOK Vol. 4 formal classroom training.
2. I joined PMI and downloaded the electronic version of the PMBOK Guide.
3. PMBOK Guide Vol. 4 (Read one time).
4. PM PrepCast (Repeated 4 times).
5. PM Exam simulator, practice all 8 exams.
6. PM Formula Study guide.
7. PM Rita Mulcahy Vol.7 – Practice all questions for each Knowledge Area.
8. Pocket PMP® Exam – Rita Mulcahy – 200 tough questions.
9. PMZilla Ebook – 275 questions tough questions.
10. The PMP Exam, quick reference guide by Andy Crowe.
11. Using Microsoft Project to keep an eye on the progress and schedule.

I studied PM PrepCast simultaneously with PMBOK (The PMBOK guide is dry reading, but Cornelius mentioned clearly that you must get beyond that for the "success"). PMBOK contains information that was not covered elsewhere but did appear in tests (simulation/actual).
I listened (and re-listened) to the PM PrepCast topics every day even when driving to test center as well :) .

I took my first test on May 28th, the test result did tell me that I was not as proficient within Planning, Executing, Monitor & Controlling process groups.