fbpx

Reply: ME: 1, PMP: 0 (Passed 1st try, 5 weeks studying)

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : ME: 1, PMP: 0 (Passed 1st try, 5 weeks studying)

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
10 years 7 months ago #3640

Pablo Simmonds

Yes, it's official. As of July 27, 2013, I am a PMP!!!

Fortunately, I was blessed to do this with only 5 weeks of total prep, so I'll try to briefly describe exactly how I studied in the hopes that it will help somebody else reach their goal of passing the exam.

Step 1: Listen to the PMP PrepCast - I downloaded all of the podcasts and, in two weeks, I listened to everything except the interviews, the applied concepts, and the episodes on exam logistics. I took notes on everything, especially the inputs, T&Ts, and outputs of each process. I use Evernote so that it was easy for me to go through the episodes at home or during down time at the office.

Step 2: Practice creating a "brain dump" sheet - One of the best suggestions from the podcast was a brain dump sheet. I practiced creating one twice a day for 1 week. In that time, I felt pretty comfortable doing it, so I only did it once a day for the other 2 weeks. My sheet included the chart with all of the Knowledge Areas and Process Groups, as well the formulas (CV, SV, CPI, CPI, EAC, TCPI, Present Value).

Step 3: Read the PMI Code of Ethics - I'm not sure how much this helped, but I did it anyway. It's short enough that it can't hurt.

Step 4: Read glossary in PMBOK Guide - Another great suggestion from the PrepCast. I went through each term in the glossary. If I saw a term I wasn't familiar with, I'd put the term and it's definition in my notes. I also created a separate section of my notes to group similar terms so I could see the differences between them (i.e., Exploit vs Enhance Risks, Enterprise Environmental Factors vs Organizational Process Assets, etc)