fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP with 4 Ps on 6/22 - My Lessons Learnt

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP with 4 Ps on 6/22 - My Lessons Learnt

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
10 years 9 months ago #3507

VAENKATA S REDDI

Profile: I am a graduate in Engineering and have almost 5 years of experience as a PM working for an IT consulting company. All of this is from a vendor side working at client locations.

PMP Journey: Thought of getting certified for some time but never got enough time because of project commitments and was always of the opinion to register for the exam only after preparing to certain extent. Collected lot of info from Internet regarding PMP exam and started reading Rita last year and after 3-4 chapters, couldn’t continue further because of project commitments. Other reason because of which I couldn’t continue my study last year is because of picking up some wrong study plan from internet which targeted to complete one chapter from Rita in a day or two. I was never able to cope up with this schedule and finally lost interest. This year around March read somewhere that PMBOK 5 will be effective from 31st July. At this point decided that I have to get certified before June as all the material I bought and collected will go in vain.

Resources:

1. Rita Mulcahy’s PMP Exam Prep 7th Edition.
2. PMBOK 4
3. PM Prepcast

Preparation:

1. Continued reading Rita’s book where I left last year. With the preliminary understanding that I got about PMP from this first read, prepared my own preparation plan.

2. Simultaneously bought PM Prepcast and got my 35 contact hrs certificate post taking an online exam. I read each process first from PMBOK and then listen to the corresponding process from Prepcast which helped me understand the fundamentals.