fbpx

Reply: PMP Exam Success!!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : PMP Exam Success!!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
11 years 11 months ago #2798

Kevin Whiteside

I passed my PMP exam last Thursday and I can not be happier!!! As a comparison, I studied a lot and was a bit nervous a while back when completing a GMAT in preparation for getting my MBA, but the PMP exam preparation and anxiousness was way more! Wow did I study like never before - but it was WELL worth it! I do give a big shout-out to Cornelius and the PM Prepcast as a big reason for my success!! I hope success to all of you about to take the exam! I hope what I give you next can be of use.

Regarding how I studied, lessons learned, and what I would do differently if I was to do it over again, I have a list:

1) 6 weeks of study, at about 1-2 hrs per day, prior to the exam is a bare minimum. I would push it to 2 or even 3 months. Looking back, I should have only done 1 PM Prepcast module a day, and read the PMBOK section that was covered.
2) I did about 500-600 sample exam questions. Better would be to do over a 1,000, but do them over 2-3 weeks, not just within a week. Cornelius mentions to do 2 or 3 full 200 question sample exams. I did not do this, and not sure if it would have helped me, but at a minumum do 50 question blocks each time.
3) For every sample question missed, look that section up in the PMBOK. In addition to the PMBOK and PM Prepcast, I also read and used Andy Crowe's book The PMP Exam - How to Pass on Your First Try.
4) I ran out of time and did not re-read the PMBOK after the PM Prepcast. I recommend reading it before and after. I did read some sections of the PMBOK after and it is amazing how much more it makes sense after going through the PM Prepcast!