fbpx

Reply: Passed my PMP exam today -- lessons learned

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed my PMP exam today -- lessons learned

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
13 years 2 weeks ago #1914

Steve Pantazis

I passed my PMP certification exam today!

After three months of studying, it's finally over. Here's how I succeeded, and how you can too.

I) Studying

I studied about an hour each morning during the work week and about 4 hours each weekend, over a three-month period. Toward the end, I added evenings and other spare time to the mix. The key was to comprehend the information, not just memorize it. Here's what I did:

- Watched the PM PrepCast videos (an excellent product, by the way; thank you Cornelius!)
- Read Joseph Phillips' Project Management Professional Study Guide twice and took all the chapter-end, self test questions twice; opinion: great source of foundation material (concepts and processes), but slightly lacking on the ITTO front
- Skimmed through parts of the PMBOK guide, as needed, to address areas not fully covered in Phillips' guide
- Downloaded the PMP® Exam eFlashCards™ I purchased (thanks again, Cornelius!) onto my smartphone and studied during lunches
- Performed a 15-minute "memory dump" every other morning the second month into my studying, then every morning the two weeks leading up to the exam date; my memory dump consisted of the following:
- All the formulas (3-Pt, PERT, variance, float, PV/FV, # communication channels, and EVM formulas like EAC, CPI and TCPI)
- Sigma 1,2,3 and 6 values
- HR theories (Maslow, McClellan, Hertzberg, McGregor X & Y, Ouichi Z, Expetancy)
- All 42 PM processes, exactly as they are laid out on pg 43 of the PMBOK guide

Note: I didn't memorize the ITTO's, but had a general understanding of the flow of inputs and outputs, as well as the tools and techniques required for the PM processes

2) Test prep