fbpx

Reply: Preparing for PMP

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Preparing for PMP

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
13 years 2 months ago #1799

Mala Viswanath

's Avatar

In order to prepare for the PMP I used the following material:

(a) Rita Mulcahy's PMP Book
(b) Crosswind's - PMP Exam Success Series - By Tony Johnson
(c) Pocast from PrepCast
(d) PMBOK
(e) Classes at PMP TrainingCamp (for contact hours)

My preperation for PMP started as early as June 2008, and lasted for 2.5 years. I took the exam in Dec 2010 and passed. I studied on and off during this period.

In terms of level of effort I would say I spent at least 40 hours per knowledge area. There are nine knowledge areas. In addition to these we have framework and eithics. So my LOE for the entire PMP preperation was close to 400 hours.

Studying for PMP reminded me preparing for GRE vocabulary. The two extremes of preperation methodology were as follows:

(a)Folks who systematically memorized the GRE vocabulary list and
(b)Fols who completely ignored that section. This group relied on their rich vocabulary from reading books and journals.

PMP is very similar to the above exteremes. Your personal experience in taking the PMP will depend a lot on your personal project management experience. My background is Quality Management, and Risk Management. Hence I found these sections of PMP relatively easy. I had to work harder on other sections. But I am aware of Project Managers who went in to take the exams in their first two to three weeks of preperation of the exam and scored a high pass.

What does this mean?