fbpx

Reply: Passed on October 15, 2010

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed on October 15, 2010

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
13 years 4 months ago #1675

Heiko Behrens

On October 15 I passed on the first try. Here is my road to success.

I started studying in mid-July. I downloaded and printed the PMBOK 2008 from PMI.org. I also purchased Achieve PMP Exam Success, by Margaret Cho. Both books follow the same chapter structure. I also purchased the PMP Prepcast by Cornelius Fichtner. My plan was to first I read the prep book, then the PMBOK. During the commute to work I would listen to the Prepcast. After each chapter, I would do many test questions related to the topic. At the end, I would go to a boot camp to solidify my knowledge.

I pretty much followed this plan. However, realizing that 15 questions per chapter in Cho's book were not enough, I purchased two more prep books: The PMP Exam: How to Pass on Your First Try, by Andy Crowe and Head First Pmp: A Brain-Friendly Guide to Passing the Project Management Professional Exam by Greene, Stellman.

After analyzing the styles of each prep-book, I decided that the Headfirst was best suited for my style and continued my studies with it. The other books I used for the chapter end exam questions only or to clarify a point or another.

Each week I read one chapter of the prep book, skimmed through the PMBOK, and listened to as many prepcasts episodes related to the topic as possible. Then I spend most of the time answering test questions related to the topic. I paid special attention to the question I had answered incorrectly. I would refer mostly back to the PMBOK to validate the answer given by the prep-book.