fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Lessons Learned for Passing on the first Attempt

Lessons Learned for Passing on the first Attempt 3 years 2 months ago #26185

• Sara Fisher Poppe
  • Sara Fisher Poppe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I started studying for my exam in October 2020. I first took the self-led virtual course offered by PMI for the 2021 exam. I honestly felt a bit lost and not ready for the exam, and then I heard it was changing. I turned to a professional forum I am a part of and someone messaged me to tell me about the PM PrepCast. I signed up the next day and started listening to the recordings, which made a lot of sense! I decided to take the exam in December. I knew it could be a tight deadline, so I made flash cards for the important topics to carry around, and I started reading Andy Crowe 's PMP Prep - How to Pass on the First Try. I received a great lesson learned through a PM PrepCast email from another reviewer who suggested creating a spreadsheet with columns for the knowledge area, process group, process name, process definition, when to complete the process, inputs, tools and techniques, and outputs. I would read a chapter in Andy Crowe's book, input the information from it onto the spreadsheet, and then I listed to the corresponding PM PrepCast. Once I completed a topic, I took the quizzes in the book as well as in the PrepCast, and then reviewed what I got wrong. Another incredibly helpful tip I have would be to draw out a flow chart on big paper by hand to see how everything connects as I experienced a “lightbulb” moment when I did this. Two weeks before the exam, I started taking full length exams through the PM PrepCast. Despite all of my hours spent, I was not doing well and scoring at about 65%. I spent