fbpx

Reply: My experience with the PMP exam

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : My experience with the PMP exam

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 7 months ago #4572

Dawn Upperman

Congratulations Michael! You had a great study strategy. Some don't realize that the PMBOK alone does not cover the entire test. I'm glad you highlighted that. Your strategy should be very helpful to others.
9 years 7 months ago #4571

Michael DeCicco

Mike, you've laid the framework for a strong PMP training plan. I encourage you to share it with others because you've brought a lot of clarity to how and what to study.

Congratulations
9 years 7 months ago #4570

Michael McCaughan

All,

I passed the PMP exam on August 13th, 2014! I studied basically for about 6 weeks prior to the test, averaging between 2 hours to four hours per day. I used only the PMBOK, the PM Prepcast Videos and also the PMP Exam simulator.

I first read through the PMBOK, highlighting key areas as I went along. I also began to create an outline of each PMBOK chapter in Word, showing the Inputs, tools & Techniques, and Outputs of each process. After finishing the PMBOK read, I began going through the PM prepcast videos and I would pause it to make notes in the associated section of my Word Document. The Prepcast makes it easier to do this as the videos are organized according to the PMBOK sections.