fbpx

Reply: PMI Membership Question

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : PMI Membership Question

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
13 years 1 month ago #1889

David Hardin

My email to PMI...I have a couple of questions about membership and certification.

I am an adult between jobs and studying for the PMP exam which I hope to take in May of this year. I have 8 years of project management experience, but no degree. So, I am in the process of documenting the 7,500 hours of PM work from the past 8 years.

Although an adult and out in the workforce, I am also a college student. I am attending College full-time working towards my associate degree. My college is an accredited college and its two-year programs are accepted by four-year colleges. I am attending meetings at the Local Chapter of PMI.

With the documentation to show that I am a student (including ID, current schedule, etc.) I should be able to join PMI as a student.

Does membership as a student allow me to apply for and take the PMP exam? Does it in any way raise a red flag for audit (which I'm sure I would pass, but would avoid if possible)?

Thank you for your time in answering my questions,

Answer back from PMI:

Greetings,

Thank you for contacting Customer Care at the Project Management Institute.

Membership and credentials are two seperate processes. Anyone can apply for the PMP credential if they feel they meet the experience/education requirements.

Holding a student membership will not affect your application in any negative way. A membership with PMI will only be beneficial to the process of applying for the PMP credential - your credential fees will be discounted from $555 to $405 and you will have access to the PMBOK Guide, a valuable study tool. In addition, participating in your local chapter will put you in touch with current PMPs who would be a great source for study and testing tips.