fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Which should I take?

Which should I take? 3 years 5 months ago #23880

• Lindsey Goodman
  • Lindsey Goodman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
My application expired 1/21/21. I’ve been studying the current test for the last 5-6ish weeks. Any advice on whether I should stay the course or try to start over and study for the new format? I’m studying about 2-4hrs a day but getting about 60% on practice questions.

Which should I take? 3 years 5 months ago #23913

• Gabriella Dellino, PMP
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 93
Hi Lindsey,

it is really hard to tell, as I believe this is a very subjective assessment. For sure, based on statistics, you should try to improve your test results, but I cannot tell whether the new exam will make it easier or harder.
For me, I tend to feel more comfortable with what I already know or at least I am familiar with, and having more than a couple of months left before the exam changes, I would give it a try. But again: this is me...

I found it useful to study on a regular basis (a few hours a day, just like you are doing) rather than having a full weekend studying and then pause until the following weekend. I would recommend to focus on what challenges you the most with the questions. Is there a specific knowledge area/process group where you perform lower? When you review the questions you answered incorrectly, what did you find challenging: was it the way a scenario is described? was it a concept you misunderstood?

Hope this helps,

Gabriella
Gabriella Dellino, PhD, PMP
PMPrepCast Community Moderator

Which should I take? 3 years 5 months ago #23915

• Elena Mekhanoshina
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 10
Lindsey,
This is a tough call.