fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: My PMP Journey: How I passed my PMP Exam

My PMP Journey: How I passed my PMP Exam 9 years 8 months ago #4428

• Jeremy Papp
  • Jeremy Papp's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 10
Suffice it to say, deciding to get my PMP certification was the first step. Becoming serious, setting a date and holding myself accountable to it by telling others I was doing so was the biggest motivator.

I have a lot of experience in Project Management, specifically in the realm of game and software development. I felt like I needed to qualify that experience and prove that I'm serious about Project Management as a discipline. I'm very proud now to say that I have passed my exam on May 13th, 2014. I used the following techniques:

1. Set some goals, make a plan and schedule. Don't get bogged down with the details. Be vigilant and revise/update your plan each week. Once I found www.project-management-prepcast.com , I found a wealth of information about everything from the application process, getting your PDUs, and more importantly paying for and booking an Examination appointment. Believe me, there is no greater motivator!

2. Once I had my Examination booked, I built a schedule backwards from the date of the exam. Sparing you the details, I succeeded in completing the following in 12 weeks. For me, it was just right:

- Complete all videos in the Prepcast, along with the self-assessments. Go over any failures from the self-assessments in the PMBOK guide and don't move forward until you understand. Without doing the videos first, reading the PMBOK guide was extremely difficult, dry, and without context for the most part.