fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed the PMP: First try with room to spare

Passed the PMP: First try with room to spare 9 years 8 months ago #4449

• Timothy Kucejko
  • Timothy Kucejko's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
This section of the forums was helpful and encouraging to me. Now that I've passed the exam, I'll pay it forward.

I studied less than what a lot of people on here say they did, and I was happy with how I did. I was either moderatly proficient or proficient in all areas - I had 0 sections that were below proficient, and again, I only took the exam once.

I started out by grabbing Head First PMP to answer some questions for a project I was working on. I spent 1-3 hours at a time reading the whole book over a course of a month, and I wasn't sure if I was going to actually take the exam. Head First PMP was very concise, entertaining, and informative. It's the best presentation of the PMBOK material that I've seen. Period.

4 months went by after reading Head First PMP, and I found myself attempting to build my credibility in conversations by saying "Hey! I *COULD* pass the PMP exam if I wanted to." It didn't seem to have the same ring to it as "I have a PMP" would. After saying that enough times, I decided to bite the bullet and take the exam. I needed the 35 contact hours, so I went to watch the PM Prepcast. I love Cornelius. His videos weren't quite as dramatized as Head First PMP was, but his accent and the anticipation of what Justine was going to say at the end of each video made it fun enough. I spent about 35 hours watching the 2/3 of the material that I was most fuzzy on over the course of 2 weeks before taking the exam. The first day it allowed me to take the exam, I took it and passed with room to spare.